The Business of Amateurs

About The Documentary

The NCAA was originally founded on the principles of protecting and benefiting the health of the student/athlete.  This documentary will challenge NCAA’s current role in the marketing and selling of their cheapest commodity: amateurs.

am•a•teur (n): A person who engages in a pursuit, esp. a sport, on an unpaid basis

As a former player at USC I saw the business side of college athletics first hand. From 1997- to 2001, I played football for three different coaches at the University of Southern California. I was an award-winning student/athlete and, for the most part, it was a dream come true.

But recently, some of my old injuries have opened my eyes to the fact that my future medical costs will likely outweigh the monetary benefits of my free education by the time I’m a senior citizen.

Student/Athletes or Employees?

What many people don’t know about student/athletes from all sports:

  • They work over 40 hours a week on their sport alone
  • They incur over $3,000 in debt per year
  • Their scholarships are renewable on an annual basis
